Congratulations to Afton Softball on a great season.

954817_366185090150373_277745136_nAfton’s return to statewide softball prominence went according to plan for nearly the entirety of this season.

With the exception of the Crimson Knights’ final game .

Fort Ann scored three runs in the fourth inning to break a 1-all tie, then withstood a last-inning rally to hold on for a 5-2 victory over Afton in the state Class D championship game Saturday at the Adirondack Sports Complex.

The Section 2 champion Cardinals (25-0) completed a perfect season, while denying Afton (22-2) its eighth state title and first since 2009.

Afton was making its first state-playoff appearance after a rare two-year absence that seemed like forever for a program long one of the state’s best, and it appeared it might be one that could end gloriously when it struck first for a run in the first inning.

But Fort Ann responded with a run in the second inning to tie the score at 1, then seized control with a three-run fourth inning.

Kayla Bancroft led off the inning with a single, and one out later Bri Amodio had a single to put runners on first and second.

Following another out, Mikayla Graves drew a walk off Afton starter Cassidy Phillips to load the bases before Kimmi Ostrander hit a two-run single to center to put Fort Ann ahead 3-1. A passed ball ensued, allowing Graves to score from third base to make it 4-1.

Fort Ann added another run in the fifth inning to push its lead to 5-1, and seemed well on its way to the title against an Afton squad that had only four hits through six innings.

But Afton made it interesting in the seventh.

Shakari Coss was hit by a pitch to lead off the inning. Shawna Stevens hit a single to right, but Coss was thrown out trying to advance to third.

However, Tanya Hatton singled to put runners on first and third, and Ashley Rogalski followed with an RBI single that made it 5-2, though Hatton was thrown out trying to advance to third base on the play.

Still, when Sierra Palmatier singled to left following Rogalski’s hit, it brought the tying run to the plate in Payton Cutting. The junior flied out to right field to end the game.

Afton coach Cindy Bostelman was disappointed in the outcome but otherwise was thrilled with the season, especially considering the relative youth of her squad.

“This is a unique group, I have no seniors in this starting lineup,” said Bostelman, who has coached five of Afton’s seven state-title teams. “They’re hungry , the desire to want to come back and the feelings of being here will be in their minds. I don’t think they’ll be down long, it’s a sad ending but they know what to expect and what we need to do to get back.”

“That Fort Ann was a great team, they did a great job putting the ball in play.”

Afton made it to the title game with a 1-0 victory over Section 3’s Hamilton earlier Saturday.

The two teams combined for three hits, with Phillips tossing a one-hitter with 13 strikeouts for the Crimson Knights. She managed to outduel Hamilton pitcher Becca Rogers, who allowed two hits with 12 strikeouts.

Afton got its run in the third inning against Hamilton. After loading the bases with one out, Connor Decker plated Ashley Rogalski when she reached on a fielder’s choice to the shortstop.

WCDO Sports Congratulates this years’ Girls Basketball “Player of the Game” award winners

WCDO Sports, a division of WCDO Broadcasting Inc. based in Sidney, broadcast 21 local High School Girls Basketball games, featuring a total of 15 local and area varsity basketball programs as they competed throughout the season. Games can be followed throughout the season both on-the-air on WCDO 100.9 FM and 1490 AM, as well as online at All Games are also archived for playback at anytime on the website in the “WCDO Sports on Demand Archive”. During the post-game of each broadcast, two separate awards are given to outstanding players. WCDO Sports would like to thank NBT Bank and Mang Insurance for supporting the player of the game awards program throughout the season with the NBT Bank Outstanding Offense award, and The Mang Insurance Dynamic Defense award. A total of 42 awards were given this season honoring 18 student athletes from 7 area schools.

Harpursville Lady Hornets:
The Harpursville Lady Hornets are the 2012/2013 Section IV Class C Champions, and returned to the State Championship game for the 2nd time in 3 seasons this year. The team had 4 athletes recognized for a total of 11 awards this season. Savannah Murray lead the team with a total of 4 awards, one for offense and 3 for defense. Miranda Drummond, Tatiana Sosnowsky, and Shelby Medovich each received 2 awards each, Drummond on offense, and Sosnowsky and Medovich with an offensive and defensive award each.

Unadilla Valley Lady Storm:
The Unadilla Valley Lady Storm are the 2012/2013 Class C MAC Champions. The team had 4 athletes recognaized for a total of 9 awards this season. Taylor Davis and Amanda Off led the team with 3 awards each, Davis with 1 offensive and 2 defensive, and Off with 2 offensive and 1 defensive. Jordan Anderson took home 2 offensive awards, and Corrine Izzard a defensive award.

Unatego Lady Spartans:
The Unatego Spartans had 4 athletes recognized for a total of 8 awards this season. Casey Manzanero lead the team with 3 offensive awards. Sarah Menina and Kayla Talbot each received 2 awards each, Menina with an offensive and defensive, and Talbot with two defensive awards. Robin Foster also received a defensive award.

Sidney Lady Warriors:
The Sidney Warriors had 5 athletes recognized for an award each this season. Kelsey Decker took home an offensive award while Taylor Krom, Rileigh Genung, Hannah Wood, and Bethany Karl each received defensive awards.

Franklin Lady Purple Devils:
The Franklin Lady Purple Devils are the 2012/2013 Class D MAC Champions. Franklin was featured in two broadcasts this season where their players swept the awards for each of those games. Jordan Beers won 2 awards for offense and Marisa Cawley won 2 awards for defense.

Other Area Schools:
A total of 6 awards were awarded in 2 other area schools. At Bainbridge-Guilford, Morgan Bullis received two awards, one for offense and one for defense, and Taylor Palmatier took home an offensive award. At Afton, Bailey Sherman picked up two awards, one for offense and one for defense, and Payton Cutting received an offensive award.

WCDO Sports will be back with more local sports broadcasts in the upcoming seasons. Games can be heard on the air at 100.9 FM and 1490 AM. Games are also streamed on the internet at WCDO Sports says “Congratulations and Well Done!” to all Student Athletes throughout our area on their accomplishments this season, and thanks the Coaches, Parents, and Volunteers who make School Athletics possible throughout our local area. WCDO Sports also thanks the many local businesses who recognize the importance of supporting School Athletics and make the broadcasts throughout football and basketball seasons possible.