WCDO Sports Congratulates this years’ Girls Basketball “Player of the Game” award winners

WCDO Sports, a division of WCDO Broadcasting Inc. based in Sidney, broadcast 21 local High School Girls Basketball games, featuring a total of 15 local and area varsity basketball programs as they competed throughout the season. Games can be followed throughout the season both on-the-air on WCDO 100.9 FM and 1490 AM, as well as online at WCDORadio.com. All Games are also archived for playback at anytime on the website in the “WCDO Sports on Demand Archive”. During the post-game of each broadcast, two separate awards are given to outstanding players. WCDO Sports would like to thank NBT Bank and Mang Insurance for supporting the player of the game awards program throughout the season with the NBT Bank Outstanding Offense award, and The Mang Insurance Dynamic Defense award. A total of 42 awards were given this season honoring 18 student athletes from 7 area schools.

Harpursville Lady Hornets:
The Harpursville Lady Hornets are the 2012/2013 Section IV Class C Champions, and returned to the State Championship game for the 2nd time in 3 seasons this year. The team had 4 athletes recognized for a total of 11 awards this season. Savannah Murray lead the team with a total of 4 awards, one for offense and 3 for defense. Miranda Drummond, Tatiana Sosnowsky, and Shelby Medovich each received 2 awards each, Drummond on offense, and Sosnowsky and Medovich with an offensive and defensive award each.

Unadilla Valley Lady Storm:
The Unadilla Valley Lady Storm are the 2012/2013 Class C MAC Champions. The team had 4 athletes recognaized for a total of 9 awards this season. Taylor Davis and Amanda Off led the team with 3 awards each, Davis with 1 offensive and 2 defensive, and Off with 2 offensive and 1 defensive. Jordan Anderson took home 2 offensive awards, and Corrine Izzard a defensive award.

Unatego Lady Spartans:
The Unatego Spartans had 4 athletes recognized for a total of 8 awards this season. Casey Manzanero lead the team with 3 offensive awards. Sarah Menina and Kayla Talbot each received 2 awards each, Menina with an offensive and defensive, and Talbot with two defensive awards. Robin Foster also received a defensive award.

Sidney Lady Warriors:
The Sidney Warriors had 5 athletes recognized for an award each this season. Kelsey Decker took home an offensive award while Taylor Krom, Rileigh Genung, Hannah Wood, and Bethany Karl each received defensive awards.

Franklin Lady Purple Devils:
The Franklin Lady Purple Devils are the 2012/2013 Class D MAC Champions. Franklin was featured in two broadcasts this season where their players swept the awards for each of those games. Jordan Beers won 2 awards for offense and Marisa Cawley won 2 awards for defense.

Other Area Schools:
A total of 6 awards were awarded in 2 other area schools. At Bainbridge-Guilford, Morgan Bullis received two awards, one for offense and one for defense, and Taylor Palmatier took home an offensive award. At Afton, Bailey Sherman picked up two awards, one for offense and one for defense, and Payton Cutting received an offensive award.

WCDO Sports will be back with more local sports broadcasts in the upcoming seasons. Games can be heard on the air at 100.9 FM and 1490 AM. Games are also streamed on the internet at WCDOSports.com. WCDO Sports says “Congratulations and Well Done!” to all Student Athletes throughout our area on their accomplishments this season, and thanks the Coaches, Parents, and Volunteers who make School Athletics possible throughout our local area. WCDO Sports also thanks the many local businesses who recognize the importance of supporting School Athletics and make the broadcasts throughout football and basketball seasons possible.

Newfield Lady Trojans @ Unatego Lady Spartans Sectional Semifinals – FINAL

The Unatego Lady Spartans hold on to get the win 48-44 and will transfer to the Section IV Class C Women’s Championship game on Saturday versus the winner of the Harpursville vs Elmira Notre Dame game taking place Wednesday night at Elmira.  WCDO will be at the Broome County Arena live with Greg Davie for all the action on Saturday on WCDO AM/FM and online at WCDOSports.com!  Also in Class D action, Franklin defeated Southern Cayuga 70-36 and will transfer to the Section IV Class D Women’s Championship game on Saturday at SUNY Oneonta.  WCDO will also be there for all the action with Harry Graves and Billy Blake calling that game!

Congratulations to tonight’s award winners:

NBT Bank Outstanding Offense: Casey Manzanero – Unatego

Mang Insurance Dynamic Defense: Robin Foster – Unatego

Leading Scorers in tonight’s game: (*All stats unofficial)

Casey Manzanero (U) 14

Marissa Woodard (U) 13

Erica Carney (N) 12

Join us on Saturday for a Championship Double-Header with Greg Davie covering the Class C game with Unatego vs ???? at the Broome County Arena and Harry Graves and Billy Blake will cover the action at SUNY Oneonta as Franklin vies for the Championship vs   the winner of Morris and Charlotte Valley on WCDO AM/FM and WCDOSports.com!  We will update the matchups as the semifinal games are settled!  Stay tuned at WCDOSports.com!


Newfield Lady Trojans @ Unatego Lady Spartans Sectional Semifinals – Update 2

Robin Foster makes an offensive rebound and puts the ball in the basket to put Unatego back on top headed into the halftime locker room.  Unatego leads 26-24 at the half.  Marissa Woodard leads Unatego with 10 points while Newfield has spread the scoring around with a total of 7 players scoring their 24 points in the first half.  Greg Davie interviews Kevin Thayer at halftime about his State Championship win in wrestling.

Unadilla Valley @ Unatego Ladies – Update 1

At the end of the 1st Quarter, after two ties and three lead changes, we’re all tied up 11-11!  Team leaders: Taylor Davis (UV) 5 points and Robin Foster (UN) 4 points

Join us on the air at WCDO AM/FM, or stream the game online at WCDOSports.com!